Ives: Concord Sonata

Functions and Availability of Tickets

Ives: Concord Sonata


The Concord Sonata is one of the essential works of Charles Ives, the father of American contemporary music. Throughout four movements inspired by historical figures associated with the philosophical movement known as transcendentalism, Ives uses unconventional notation, extravagant harmonies, quotes of Beethoven's music and ethereal appearances of other instruments. Finnish pianist Joonas Ahonen will return to Teatro Colón to perform this piece. In 2012, he dazzled critics in Buenos Aires with his interpretation of Ligeti’s Piano Concerto with the prestigious Klangforum Wien ensemble that he is a member of.


Joonas Ahonen

It may interest you