Pergolesi: Stabat Mater

Functions and Availability of Tickets

Pergolesi: Stabat Mater


The score can be seen as an elevated, almost mystical inspiration that provides a musical backdrop to the prayer that begins with the words Stabat Mater dolorosa (the grieving Mother stood) and ponders upon the suffering of Mary, the mother of Jesus, at the foot of the cross.

Composers of different time periods, genres and styles have drawn inspiration from this poem which is made up of twenty stanzas and sixty lines, written by the Franciscan Jacopone de Benedetti in the 13th century. However, without detriment to the other works, the pieces by Pergolesi and Rossini are the most widely performed and are most appreciated by audiences.



Teatro Colón’s Resident Orchestra

Teatro Colón’s Children’s Chorus
César Bustamante


Verónica Cangemi

Sonia Prina


Permanent Orchestra

It is one of the oldest symphonic groups in Argentina.


Children's Choir