Sonata Concord

Functions and Availability of Tickets

Sonata Concord


Joonas Ahonen

The Concord Sonata is one of the seminal pieces by Charles Ives, the father of contemporary American music. Throughout four movements inspired by historical figures associated with the philosophical current known as transcendentalism, Ives makes use of unconventional notation, extravagant harmonies, musical quotations from Beethoven and ethereal appearances of other instruments.

Finnish pianist Joonas Ahonen, who dazzled critics in Buenos Aires in 2012, will return to the Teatro Colón. He dazzled critics in Buenos Aires with his performance of Ligeti's Piano Concerto with the prestigious Klangforum Wien ensemble, of which he is a member.

It may interest you